books

Books of 2016

I’m a huge book lover but unfortunately I haven’t read as many books as I’d like to this year due to university and moving. So I thought I’d compile a small list of some books I’ve really enjoyed in 2016. Unfortunately some of my favourites are in storage and so cannot be included (as much as I’d like to).

  1. Harry Potter, J.K. RowlingIMG_2144.JPG
    Now I’m a huge Potterhead. I’m a Slytherin (and proud) and fell in love with the series as soon as I laid my eyes on it. As a kid I was thoroughly disappointed when there was no Hogwarts letter aged 11 but loved the series nonetheless. Obviously this was a big year for any HP fan as Fantastic Beasts came out and reignited a major flame inside my heart. I decided to reread the series and it’s still just as magical. And remember…Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home. Always.
  2. Me Before You, Jojo Moyes
    IMG_2142.JPGI have only recently finished this book but am anxiously waiting to read the sequel. I’ve fallen in love with both Will and Louisa and the soul-crushing ending. Mostly I loved the realism. This book talks about the controversial subject of assisted suicide and this book is a real eye opener into a few of the many struggles facing paraplegics. I was actually surprised by the style of romance as I am not a huge fan of cheesy romances, and I honestly thought this would be one of them. Actually this book has a realistic romance that you can’t help but root for the whole way through the book. If you like a good cry and a romance whilst opening your mind then this is definitely the book for you.
  3. Wuthering Heights, Emily BrontëIMG_2139.JPG
    This year I decided I wanted to educate myself. I claim to be a huge book lover and had never given any thought to classics. Enter ‘Wuthering Heights’. I honestly could not have picked a better book. Emily Brontë’s characters in no way idols and have many flaws which is refreshing considering the era it was released. Heathcliffe and Cathy are not an idealistic couple and their love for one another brings out the worst in each other. It’s not a typical romance novel, in fact it’s often regarded as a ‘gothic romance’  but it’s definitely a book that any classic reader should read.
  4. Alice in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll
    IMG_2143.JPGThis book is a collection of ‘Alice’s adventures in Wonderland’ and ‘Alice through the looking-glass’. Alice is one of my favourite literary characters of all time. She’s extremely curious and imaginative and her adventures are both amusing and intriguing. Yet again this is a classic that everyone should read. I love the small poems Carroll has included throughout the book and the illustrations help bring some of the more imaginative creatures to life.  If you loved Disney’s adaption of the book then you would love this as parts of the film have been directly lifted from the book, making for a pleasant nostalgic moment.
  5. On the Other Side, Carrie Hope Fletcherimg_2146

    This book surprised me. I’m not a huge lover of romance books (as stated) but I fell in love with this book. This is more of a cheesy romance but with the use of magic in real life situations it somehow makes it less cheesy. Yet again this book had me on the verge of tears but I loved every minute and had to fight myself to stop reading it and go to sleep. This book has themes of love, death and forgiveness all written in a beautiful way that makes any cheese hater want to read more. I read this in 3 days and would recommend this to anyone.
  6. Little Mix Our World, Little Mix
    IMG_2147.JPGIf you are a Little Mix fan then you NEED this in your life. Seriously. This is their official book written by the girls, talking about their lives and experiences. The pictures are amazing and I love the use of glitter on the front cover. Reading this makes you feel like you’re getting to know the girls better and is a must have for any mixer out there. I was super lucky to get this one signed at a  book signing they did back in October the day before my birthday (best birthday present ever) and I will always treasure this book.
Leave a Reply

