Lifestyle

My quarter-life crisis!

Hi. I’m Lucy-May and I’m 22 years old, and I’m currently having a quarter life crisis.

I finished university over 6 months ago, graduating in July 2016. It’s now January 2017 and I’m still unemployed. I studied Zoology and I knew the job opportunities would be limited but I have a fair amount of practical experience as well as many exceptional qualifications. What I wasn’t expecting was to still be unemployed this long after graduation. I’m still applying but with every application that fire and passion is slowly dying.

Then it’s housing. So we had to sell our old family home because when my parents split they could no longer afford the house. I was at Uni at the time so there was no rush for my dad to find a house so they both stayed with my Nan. Now house prices are increasing so much that my dad can’t find a nice affordable house for him, my younger sister and me. So I stayed with my older sister for a few months until before New Years when she decided that she no longer wanted me in the house. So I’ve very recently had to crash at my mum’s house in the spare room that’s not really suitable to live in long term. Plus my Mum and step-dad are currently trying to do the flat up so it’s all chaotic.

With all this moving about my stuff is everywhere. I still have a few things at my sisters from where I haven’t been able to collect all my things. I have stuff in my Nan’s loft and then the rest is in storage. So if I need something, I have to have a good few weeks notice to try to find it!

All this is stressful and can really get me down at times, so I have come up with some things that help make me feel better.

1. Be grateful for what you have – this experience has made me super grateful to have such amazing family, who have taken me in short notice and are always encouraging me to apply for jobs and never give up.

2. Motivation – The fact that some of my friends have their own houses and full time jobs does keep me motivated so that I can one day have the same. But don’t worry about feeling left behind as everyone finds themselves eventually, some just take a little longer.

3. Take time for yourself – I enjoy having a nice pamper and forgetting about all my problems. Take a bath or shower and put on a face mask, some chilled music and binge watch your favourite movies or series. It’s okay to be selfish once in a while.

4. It’s okay to not be okay – This is hard for me as I hate crying in front of people. In fact my Mum referred to me as her emotionally inept daughter as I hardly cry or talk to people about my issues. This normally suits me but sometimes all you need is a good cry, and you just need to find someone to be that shoulder to cry on. But it’s okay to admit your life is not as together as you want it to be.

 

“Everything will be okay in the end,

if it’s not okay, it’s not the end”

– Unknown

Leave a Reply

